What to see, visit and eat

District of Pabianice

Location

The district lies in the central part of Łódź Region, mostly in Łask Upland. It borders 6 other districts of Łódź Region: districts of Łask (to the east), Bełchatow and Piotrków (to the south), Poddębice and Zgierz (to the north) and Eastern Łódź and city of Łódź (to the west).

Area and population

The district covers the area of 492.54 square kilometres with the population of 119,900 inhabitants, 69,700 and 17,600 of which live in two towns- Pabianice (the capital of the district) and Konstantynów respectively (data from 2008).

Township districts

The district comprises 7 administrative units: 2 towns (urban communes) - Pabianice and Konstantynów Łódzki and 5 rural communes: Dłutów, Dobroń, Ksawerów, Lutomiersk and Pabianice.

District capital

Pabianice

Worth visiting / sightseeing:

  • a Renaissance fortified manor in possession of the Chapter of Cracow (1565-72, in place of an older wooden manor, in 1833 turned into a Town Hall) - the only Renaissance building of this type preserved in the region of Łódź. Already in the Middle Ages a wooden manor house serving as administrative seat of the Chapter of Cracow and the treasury was erected in this place surrounded by branches of the river Dobrzynka, a moat and a stockade, in the 15th century played host to the Polish kings – Władysław Jagiełło and Kazimierz Jagiellończyk.
    Currently the seat of the Museum of the Town of Pabianice;
  • a Renaissance church dedicated to St Mateusz (1572-77, designed by Wawrzyniec Lorek, based on the cathedral in Płock) – one of the most interesting Renaissance churches in the region of Łódź.
  • a neo-Gothic church dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary (since 1898, designed by T.Markiewicz);
  • a Lutheran Church of the Augsburg Confession dedicated to St Peter and St Paul (1827-31) -
    a classical structure in the shape of a rotunda covered with a conical roof and a lantern on its top. In the upper part of the frontage – sculptures coming from chisel of A.Pruszyński – on the right St Peter, on the left St Paul;
  • an evangelical cemetery – the burial place of many citizens of Pabianice mainly Germans or their polonized descendants of Lutheran-Augsburg confession. At the main entrance a huge tomb of the Kruche and Ender families (industrialists) topped with a monumental statue of Christ in front of which there is a marble slab covering the entrance to catacombs;
  • a Jewish cemetery – partly destroyed, surrounded by a fence ,with many graves of members of the Jewish community in Pabianice
  • three historic weavers’ houses - a wooden one ( ul.Św Jana), two brick-built ones ( ul. Zamkowa) erected in the first half of the 19th century.

    Other cities and towns

    Konstantynów Łódzki

    Worth visiting / sightseeing:

  • a neo-Gothic parish church dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary (1826-32, destroyed in a fire in 1914, restored in 1917-22);
  • a former Lutheran Church of the Augsburg Confession (1826-34, originally with one nave), side naves, the tower and neo-Renaissance elevation dating back to the end of the 19th c;
  • one-storey weavers’ houses from the first half of the 19th century.

    Former cities and towns

    Kazimierz - a former town, charter granted before 1288 till 1870.

    Worth visiting / sightseeing:

  • a neo-Gothic brick-built parish church dedicated to St John the Baptist (1902-14, designed by J.P.Dziekoński, Z.Mączeński).

    Lutomiersk - a former town (charter granted from 1274 to 1870); a huge skeletal and crematory burial grounds from the first half of the 11th century were discovered here; incl richly equipped graves of a Russian chieftain and his warriors.

    Worth visiting / sightseeing:
  • a complex of a former monastery of the Order of the Reformati (today Salesian Order); a church dedicated to the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary and the monastery building, erected between 1648-52, in place of a Gothic castle from the 14th c. due to the Grudziński family; inside a modest exhibition devoted to the history of Łutomiersk;
  • a late-Baroque church dedicated to the Scapular Mother of God (1780), nearby a Baroque brick-built belfry from 1780.

    Main tourist attractions

    Babice

  • an evangelical cemetery, founded probably in the second half of the 19th c.

    Barycz
  • a wooden water mill (1914) on the river Grabia – a part of the construction is a brick-built engine room restored in the 1990s.

    Bechcice
  • an evangelical cemetery where the soldiers fighting in a big battle of Łódź were buried in 1914.

    Charbice
  • a manor and a park: the manor (ca 1830) extended in interwar times, brick-built quarters for farm labourers from the second half of the 19th c. and remains of the landscape park.

    Chechło
  • an evangelical cemetery – a dozen or so tombstones and a huge, metal cross; 5 graves of Russian soldiers from 1914, and nearby a small cemetery of Polish soldiers fallen in 1939;
  • an obelisk commemorating soldiers of the 72nd Infantry Regiment fallen in the neighbourhood of Chechło on the 7th September 1939.

    Dłutów
  • a brick-built church dedicated to the Sacred Heart (1948-57);
  • a manor and park complex with outbuildings.
    Dłutówek (Commune Dłutów)

    Dobroń
  • a wooden church of St Wojciech (1763-69, designed by S.Sierakowski).

    Franciszków
  • “Jodły Oleśnickie” forest reserve (north-east to the village, within the limits of Oleśnica nature reserve).

    Górka Pabianicka
  • a neo-Gothic, brick-built church dedicated to St Marcin and St Maria Magdalena (1874).

    Hermanów and Terenin
  • “Uroczysko Mogilno” ecological grasslands (purpose-built reserve) protecting a complex of dunes, ponds and peat bogs with rare specimens of plants (in the forest west to the village).

    Ldzań, Mogilno Małe, Mogilno Duże
  • characteristic of the region houses built of marl, a sedimentary rock extracted in a quarry in Mogilno, with gables reinforced with bricks (rarely seen in contemporary village houses).

    Ldzań – Talar
  • a complex of two wooden water mills (the 19th c.) and fishing ponds

    Mianów
  • “Mianów” peat-bog reserve – founded in 2000 to protect a forest complex of lowland bogs with peat-bog plants.

    Mikołajewice
  • a wooden parish church dedicated to the Birth of the Blessed Mary and St peter and St Paul (1711 or 1720).

    Okołowice
  • “Uroczysko Porszewice” natural-scenic complex protecting dunes, ponds, peat bogs together with rare plant specimens.

    Porszewice
  • a rural park covering the area of 31 ha, founded at the beginning of the 20th c., with small-leaf lindens, English oaks, pisiferas, silver maples, Canada hemlocks and horse chestnuts protected as nature monuments.

    Przygoń
  • a farm of African ostriches and a private zoological garden; with exotic pheasants living at large in Tibet, the Himalayas and Sri Lanka, miniature goats from Bengal, Shetland ponies and ostriches.

    Puczniew
  • relicts of the former manor-park complex: a brick-built stable (the beginning of the 20th c.), a former ice house (the 19th c.) and the 19th-century landscape park covering the area of 5.3 ha.

    Rydzynki and Stanisławów
  • evangelical cemeteries (the 19th-20th centuries).

    Szydłów
  • an early-mediaeval ring settlement dating back to the 9th –10th centuries AD;
  • a 19th –century manor landscape park covering the area of 4.4 ha.

    Trupianka
  • a huge erratic boulder with 1060 m in perimeter – one of the biggest erratic boulders in the region of Łódź.

    Widzew
  • Kindler’s palace-park complex;
  • a 19th-century Roman Catholic chapel built by Mateusz Lubowidzki.

    Wymysłów Piaski
  • a cemetery from the World War I (one of the biggest in the vicinity of Łódź) – among others 654 soldiers of German Army of August von Mackensen, 71 soldiers of the Russian Army of General Paweł Plehwa fallen in the battle of Łódź in December 1914 were buried here.

    TOURIST INFORMATION
    Informacja turystyczna
    Tourist Information Desk in Lutomiersk
    Plac Jana Pawła II 11
    95-083 Lutomiersk
    tel. (+48) 436 776 461
    gci.lutomiersk@op.pl
    ROTWLUpdated: 2009-07-28 13:43:14
    Modified by: Piotr Sölle
  • Find a hotel

    Search Hotels

    Calendar of events

    • mon
    • tue
    • wed
    • thu
    • fri
    • sat
    • sun
     

    Photo gallery

    Photo gallery
    fot. Piotr Sölle -rezerwaty-przyrody--jodly-olesnickie--m-franciszkow-gmina-lutomiersk--1237661692
    Waldnaturschutzgebiet
    "Jodły Oleśnickie"
    fot. Piotr Sölle

    fot. Ryszard Bonisławski -1276438456
    Kazimierz
    fot. Ryszard Bonisławski

    fot. Piotr Sölle -1238945079
    Lutomiersk
    Former monastery of the Order of the Reformati (today of the Salesians of Don Bosco)
    fot. Piotr Sölle

    fot. archiwum ROTWŁ  -1341217750
    Pabianice - Hotel Aviator
    fot. archiwum ROTWŁ